Cagayan Province

Cagayan Province
Written by Patrick


Cagayán is a province of the Philippines in the Cagayan Valley Region in the northeast of Luzon Island. Its capital is the city of Tuguegarao. The Cagayan Valley is the largest region in the Philippines with regards to the land area. The Cagayan River, the country’s longest, runs through its center and flows out to Luzon Strait in the north, in the town of Aparri, Cagayan. The Babuyan and Batanes island groups that lie in the Luzon Strait belong to the region.


Cagayan Province Location Map

Coordinates: 18°00′N 121°48′E


The following are a few useful and interesting details about this province.

18°00′N 121°48′E | View Map
Year Founded:
9,295.75 km2 (3,589.11 sq mi)
130/km2 (330/sq mi)
Cities & Towns:
1 Component city, 28 Towns (Municipalities)
(Mount Cetaceo) 1,811 m (5,942 ft)
Time Zone:
Zip Code:
Area code:
+63 -(078)-XXX-XXXX
Standard voltage is 220V.
Plug commonly used is Type A but Types B and C are used as well.
Bring A to B adapter(s).
Philippine Peso (PHP)
Exchange Rate:
Approximately 1 USD = 50 PHP | click for exact exchange rate
Income Class:
First Class
76.15 Roman Catholic
Callao Caves and the Pinacanauan River
Known For:
Agricultural economy with commerce, trade, and industry
Major Industries:
Agriculture (rice, corn, root crops, coffee, tobacco, and coconut)
Best Time to Visit:
March to June
Casual light clothing: shorts, t-shirt, sandals. Light jacket and pants at night, at higher elevations, and boating.
Aparri Seaport | Claveria Seaport
Bus Terminal(s):


The climate in this province is tropical: warm, humid, and fairly consistent from year to year. Because of its topography, Cagayan has three types of climate.

Cagayan de Oro is said to be a typhoon-free area but it has not been able to escape rain showers and some depressions. The best time to go when weather is a consideration would be from March to June as it is sunny during this time.

The most appropriate clothing in this province is casual light clothing: shorts, t-shirt, sandals. Light jacket and pants at night, at higher elevations, and boating.

READ MORE: Climate & Weather in the Philippines


Cagayan Province Map

The Cagayan province is divided into 28 Municipalities, 1 City:

  • Abulug
  • Alcala
  • Allacapan
  • Amulung
  • Aparri
  • Baggao
  • Ballesteros
  • Buguey
  • Calayan
  • Camalaniugan
  • Claveria
  • Enrile
  • Gattaran
  • Gonzaga
  • Iguig
  • Lal-lo
  • Lasam
  • Pamplona
  • Peñablanca
  • Peñablanca
  • Piat
  • Rizal
  • Sanchez-Mira
  • Santa Ana
  • Santa Praxedes
  • Santa Teresita
  • Santo Niño (Faire)
  • Solana
  • Tuao
  • Tuguegarao City


There are 11 outlying islands surrounding the mainland of Cagayan which are under the jurisdiction of the province.

  • Babuyan Claro
  • Balintang Island
  • Barit Island
  • Calayan Island
  • Camiguin Island
  • Dalupiri Island
  • Didicas Island
  • Fuga Island
  • Mabog Island
  • Palaui Island
  • Panultan Island


The following is a list of points of interest relating to the Cagayan province: 

  • Bon Bon Beach
  • Centinela Beach
  • Centrio Mall
  • City Museum of Cagayan de Oro
  • Eden’s Solace
  • F.S. Catanico Falls
  • Gaston Park
  • Grand Central
  • Kagay-an Resort
  • La Castilla Museum
  • Limketkai Center
  • Lucky 9 Swimming Pool
  • Macahambus Gorge
  • Mapawa Nature Park
  • Migtugsok Falls
  • Monique Cave
  • Museo de Oro
  • Museum of Three Cultures
  • Opol Beach
  • Palalan Falls
  • Pelaez Sports Center
  • Rohan Beach
  • Santuario Eucaristico – Sacred Heart Parish
  • Seven Seas Waterpark and Resort
  • SM City
  • Vicente de Lara Park
  • Xavier Museum

If you plan to visit the province of Cagayan, you can use the following sites to determine the best places to stay:


The following is a list of festivals celebrated in Cagayan throughout the year:

  • Sambali Festival (Last week of June) – Piat


The following are the most frequently asked questions about the Cagayan province.

Where in the Philippines is Cagayan located?
Cagayan is located on Northeastern Luzon.

Is Cagayan a city or province?
Cagayan is a province.

What is the Capital of Cagayan?
The capital of Cagayan is Tuguegarao.

What is Cagayan famous or known for?
Cagayan is famous or known for milk candy, Callao Caves, and Pinacanauan River

How do I get to Cagayan?
There are several ways to get to Cagayan, the most common being from Manila:

  • Bus | 10.5 hours | $13-$22
  • Taxi | 6.5 hours | $130-$160
  • Drive | 6.5 hours | $36-$56
  • Plane | 1.25 hours | $38-$180
  • You can fly to an alternate airport, however the time will be approximately the same, but the cost will be significantly more

RESOURCE: Best Online Transportation Resource for the Philippines

How many islands are in Cagayan?
There are 11 islands in the province of Cagayan.

What does Cagayan mean?
Cagayan is a shortened term for “catagayan”, a place where the local plant called “tagay” grows.

How Safe is Traveling in Cagayan?
Cagayan is generally safe for locals and tourists.

Is the climate the same as the rest of the Philippines?
The climate in Cagayan province is considered tropical with some parts cooler than the others due to its topography.

READ MORE: Climate & Weather in the Philippines


Download Our FREE Travel Guides

We have dozens of guides to destinations throughout the Philippines. Download your FREE copy for your next trip today.

Philippine Travel Guides


Comment below

About the Author


Patrick is an entrepreneur, digital nomad, explorer, and photographer. Patrick is always in search of fun and adventure. He is well travelled throughout the world, and although location independent, his home base is Phoenix, Arizona in the USA. Patrick loves island lifestyle which is no wonder why he is so interested in spending time in the Philippines with it’s over 7,000 islands. Patrick created this site to share his knowledge of and experiences in the Philippines with Filipinos as well as other foreigners.

Leave a Comment