Zamboanga del Sur Province

Written by Patrick


Zamboanga del Sur is a province in the Philippines located in the Zamboanga Peninsula Region in Mindanao. Its capital is the city of Pagadian. Zamboanga del Sur is known for its rich heritage and interesting natural attractions such as the Sta Cruz island famed for having pink coralline sand.


Zamboanga del Sur

Coordinates: 7°50′N 123°15′E


The following are a few useful and interesting details about this province.

Zamboanga del Sur
7°50′N 123°15′E | View Map
Year Founded:
4,499.46 km2 (1,737.25 sq mi)
220/km2 (580/sq mi)
Cities & Towns:
1 Independent city, 1 Component city, 26 Towns (Municipalities)
(Mount Pinukis) 1,562 m (5,125 ft)
Time Zone:
Zip Code:
Area code:
+63 -(062)-XXX-XXXX
Standard voltage is 220V.
Plug commonly used is Type A but Types B and C are used as well.
Bring A to B adapter(s).
Philippine Peso (PHP)
Exchange Rate:
Approximately 1 USD = 50 PHP | click for exact exchange rate
Income Class:
First Class
Predominantly Roman Catholic
Cebuano, Subanon, Chavacano, Tausug, Iranun, Maranao, Tagalog, English
Known For:
Yakan Weaving Village and pink sand in Sta. Cruz Island
Major Industries:
Agriculture, Handicraft, Manufacturing (furniture), Marine
Best Time to Visit:
Casual light clothing: shorts, t-shirt, sandals. Light jacket and pants at night, at higher elevations, and boating.
Bus Terminal(s):


The climate in this province has a relatively high mean annual rainfall: 1,599 to 3,500 millimeters (63.0 to 137.8 in). Temperature is relatively warm and constant throughout the year: 22 to 35 °C (72 to 95 °F).

The best time to visit Zamboanga del Sur is in the month of October.

The most appropriate clothing for this province is casual light clothing: shorts, t-shirt, sandals.  Light jacket and pants at night, at higher elevations, and boating.

READ MORE: Climate & Weather in the Philippines


Zamboanga del Sur Province Map

Zamboanga del Sur comprises 26 Municipalities, 1 Component City and 1 Independent City

  • Aurora
  • Bayog
  • Dimataling
  • Dinas
  • Dumalinao
  • Dumingag
  • Guipos
  • Josefina
  • Kumalarang
  • Labangan
  • Lakewood
  • Lapuyan
  • Mahayag
  • Margosatubig
  • Midsalip
  • Molave
  • Pagadian
  • Pitogo
  • Ramon Magsaysay (Liargo)
  • San Miguel
  • San Pablo
  • Sominot (Don Mariano Marcos)
  • Tabina
  • Tambulig
  • Tigbao
  • Tukuran
  • Vincenzo A. Sagun
  • Zamboanga City


There are 17 outlying islands surrounding the mainland of Zamboanga del Sur which are under the jurisdiction of the province.

  • Baong Island
  • Bobo Island
  • Bugias Island
  • Grande Santa Cruz Island
  • Kablingan Island
  • Lambang Island
  • Lamunigan Island
  • Little Santa Cruz Island
  • Malanipa Island
  • Panganaban Island
  • Pitas Island
  • Sacol Island
  • Sallangan Island
  • Simoadang Island
  • Taguite Island
  • Tictabon Island
  • Visa Islet


The following is a list of points of interest relating to the Zamboanga del Sur province:

  • Alegria Falls
  • Baka Falls
  • Balumbunan Cave and Submerged River
  • Bomba Beach
  • Dao Dao Island
  • Ditoray Falls
  • English Palm Farm
  • Gaisano Capital Pagadian
  • Hanging Bridge Mountain Resort
  • Kendis Cave
  • Lapuyan Falls
  • Lison Valley Waterfalls
  • Lourdes Falls
  • Manga Falls
  • Mt Timolan
  • Muricay Beach
  • Plaza Luz
  • Pokaba Ridge Viewpoint
  • Pulacan Falls
  • Siogan Falls
  • Tuboran Eriberta Spring
  • Unity Park

If you plan to visit the Province of Zamboanga del Sur, you can use the following sites to determine the best places to stay:


The following is a list of festivals celebrated in Zamboanga del Sur throughout the year:

  • ZamboSur Summer Youth Fest – April 4-21
  • Kutsitsa Festival (Molave) – April 26
  • Megayon Festival – September 11-17
  • Mandala Festival (Midsalip) – September 9
  • Pakano Festival (Dumingag) – December 27


The following are the most frequently asked questions about the Zamboanga del Sur province.

Where in the Philippines is Zamboanga del Sur located?
Zamboanga del Sur is located on southern section of the Zamboanga peninsula in western Mindanao.

Is Zamboanga del Sur a city or province?
Zamboanga del Sur is a province.

What is the Capital of Zamboanga del Sur?
The capital of Zamboanga del Sur is Pagadian.

What is Zamboanga del Sur famous or known for?
Zamboanga del Sur is famous or known for Yakan Weaving Village and pink sand in Sta. Cruz Island.

How do I get to Zamboanga del Sur?
There are several ways to get to Zamboanga del Sur, the most common being from Manila:

  • Plane | 1.5 hours | $56-$220
  • Car ferry | 44 hours | $20-$70

RESOURCE: Best Online Transportation Resource for the Philippines

How many islands are in Zamboanga del Sur?
There are 17 islands in the Zamboanga del Sur province.

What does Zamboanga mean?
Zamboanga is a Hispanicized termof the word “samboangan”, a Sinama term for “mooring place”.

How Safe is Traveling in Zamboanga del Sur?
Zamboanga del Sur is generally safe for locals and tourists.

Is the climate in Zamboanga del Sur the same as the rest of the Philippines?
The climate in Zamboanga del Sur province is considered tropical with significant amount of rainfall even in the driest month.

To learn more about the various climate types in the Philippines, and for a Climate Map, click the link below…

READ MORE: Climate & Weather of the Philippines


Download Our FREE Travel Guides

We have dozens of guides to destinations throughout the Philippines. Download your FREE copy for your next trip today.

Philippine Travel Guides


Comment below

About the Author


Patrick is an entrepreneur, digital nomad, explorer, and photographer. Patrick is always in search of fun and adventure. He is well travelled throughout the world, and although location independent, his home base is Phoenix, Arizona in the USA. Patrick loves island lifestyle which is no wonder why he is so interested in spending time in the Philippines with it’s over 7,000 islands. Patrick created this site to share his knowledge of and experiences in the Philippines with Filipinos as well as other foreigners.

Leave a Comment